Brrr, it's cold | SouthernPaddler.com

Brrr, it's cold

Kingfish6221

Nov 30, 2008
Illinois
Ok fella's, I've been lurking and learning for a while now. I am a first time builder working on a JEM Touring Pirogue and have a question about epoxy. It's winter here in Illinois and it's COLD. I have space screened off in my garage and with the woodburner I am able to heat to about 55 degrees. Should I wait until spring to fillet and epoxy? I can keep the area in the 50's by stoking the stove every 2 hours. May be able to raise the level a little with an electric heater, but that costs a lot more than wood. How long do I have to maintain higher temps and would freezing within the first 24 hours be determental?

"all I want for Christmas is a real nice tan"

oldsparkey

Aug 25, 2003
Central , Florida
www.southernpaddler.com
If you are using acetone as a cleaner ..... DON'T DO IT. A open flame is courting disaster in the highest degree. The stuff is more flammable then gasoline.

Not sure about using epoxy around a open flame , might want to check on that before having to call the Fire Department. :oops:

Working with either of them it is better to have plenty of ventilation , just to be on the safe side.

Chuck.

Jimmy W

May 1, 2006
north georgia, USA
I really don't know the answer, you might be better off waiting until spring. The Raka epoxy that I used said that it could be used down to 60 degrees. I used it with temps in the 50's, but it would still be tacky after 24 hours. After 48 hours it would be hard. Freezing might not hurt it, but would pretty much stop it from curing until it warmed back up. I know that they sometimes ship prepregs (cloth pre-saturated with resin) packed with dry ice and warm them back up to use them, but I don't know how that resin differs from what we use.

Kingfish6221

Nov 30, 2008
Illinois