cypress lumber | SouthernPaddler.com

cypress lumber

henry j

Jun 17, 2007
PO-DUNK SC.
:D Hi guys and ladys ?? I am just getting into this wooden boat thing. I grew up in the southern part of Ga. (Jesup) where there was lot of swamps and flat land that could be a swamp anytime.. The wooden boats on the river (ALTAMAHA)were home made and the wood was Cypress. This was about 1950 an I might say the best part of my life I think. Just a great place to grow up.
Anyway I am now looking to build a small boat and would like to find so nice Cypress. If any one can help me please let me hear from you soon.

oldsparkey

Aug 25, 2003
Central , Florida
www.southernpaddler.com
Henry j .. Welcome to the nut house and we just happed to have some of those folks on here who are making boats (pirogues ) out of cypress. With a little luck they might be able to let you know where to locate some. Especially if you are in the area of Louisiana today.
http://www.neilbank.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3619

Here in the central part of Florida , the best place to locate cypress is at the local Ma and Pa Sawmills.

Now as far as Jesup Ga goes there is this one person ( I think he is a person and not a fish ) called catfish who claims to live there in Jesup. Could this of been one reason that you moved ...... Naw , I better not ask that question. It is not good to ask a question that you aren't sure of the answer.
My Uncle and Aunt lived at Jesup Ga for a while and really enjoyed the time there. Plus they never said anything to me about a catfish walking around town , lots of fried catfish meals but no walking ones.

Chuck.

henry j

Jun 17, 2007
PO-DUNK SC.
Jesup/catfish