Dorcheat Bayou | SouthernPaddler.com

Dorcheat Bayou

a Bald Cypress

May 7, 2007
Northwest Louisiana
On the 19th, five boats and nine folks went on a short trip down the bayou. We went to put up some bird boxes and enjoy the day.

I did not have a camera along but, others did and I got a couple of pics.

We floated four miles in about three hours and installed eight houses which we will moniter for activity.
The day could not have been any better. The only problem was, it wasn't long enough.

e96b2935.jpg

e96b292b.jpg

e96b2925.jpg

Proof that even people with two left hands can make a boat that floats.

bearridge

Mar 9, 2005
way down yonder
bluebird boxes?

Fine lookin' boat, even if yer settin' a bit too far toward the ass end. :wink:

respectfully
bearridge

When choosing between two evils I always like to take the one I've never tried before. Mae West

bearridge

Mar 9, 2005
way down yonder
I tip my e-hat ta ya sir. That iz a fine little warbler. I have admired their pichur. I hope ta see one some day.

regards
bearridge

There iz other ways of learnin' bout the behind feet of a mule than gittin' kicked by him, sure az I'm named Remus. ‘N jest cuz these here tales iz bout critters like Br'er Rabbit ‘n Br'er Fox, that dont mean it caint happen ta folks! So scuse me fer sayin' so, but them who caint learn frum a tale bout critters, jest aint got they ears tuned fer listenin'. Uncle Remus

Kayak Jack

Aug 26, 2003
Okemos / East Lansing Michigan
Nice looking boat there, Baldy. Actually, Br'r Bear, I sit further forward than that when soloing a canoe. Leading edge of my seat is just aft of the centerline. Trims out a canoe real nice that way. Double ender paddle makes it handle quite nicely for me.