'Glass - Paint - Varnish...what order? | SouthernPaddler.com

'Glass - Paint - Varnish...what order?

DJR

Apr 12, 2007
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Hi,

I'm new to this, so it may be obvious to some...but what's the best order to apply 'coatings' to the wood?

I am soon to start building a S&G kayak, and was planning to paint the hull and varnish the deck. I assume both these go on over the fiberglass, in the order of fiberglass first, then any painted areas, then varnish the lot.

Is this correct / optimal, or do I paint prior to fiberglassing? I thought this may affect absorbtion / adhesion of the epoxy, but then the glass would protect paint to some degree from scratching.

Any guidance from people who have actually built a boat is appreciated!

Regards,
Darren
Melvbourne, Australia

Kayak Jack

Aug 26, 2003
Okemos / East Lansing Michigan
Darren,

If your paint is UV resistant, you would not need to varnish over it. No need to varnish below the water line, because it isn't supposed to be in the sun all that much anyway, and epoxy is much harder than varnish.

Below the waterline, your epoxy will be both harder and slicker if you enrich the 2nd , and subsequent, coats with powdered graphite. About 20% by volume of added graphite. Usually, three coats of enriched epoxy does it. CAUTION: Do this outside if possible. Powdered graphite can be a pesty thing that gets on you, your clothes, the furniture, the wall, etc.

May I ask, if you are building a pretty wooden boat, why are you painting over the wood? Natural wood will be much prettier than painted. Just curious.

dangermouse01

Sep 8, 2006
Palm Bay, FL (East coast)
bearridge said:
Lemme ask agin....any of ya'll use the 303 aerospace protection on yer boats? If ya do, raize yer hand. :wink:

Err....ok, my hand is halfway raised. I use 303 on my plastic boats for extra UV protection and it makes it easier to clean off smudges and stuff.