Im a newbie to boat building and need advice! | SouthernPaddler.com

Im a newbie to boat building and need advice!

bg64vw

Aug 2, 2009
Recently I watched a show aired here in Ky called KY AFIELD, its the longest running outdoor show in the U.S. something like 57-58 years??? Some local guys were on the show with their homemade wooden jon boats. It reminded me of the one we had when I was a kid (Im 37 years old) and the show and my dad said everyone had wooden boats years ago but its hard to find gunnel patterns anymore. Alas one click of the internet and I find theres a whole world of boat building. Now I like the local patterns but I decided I wanted to do a canoe first and jon boat later. Then I found pirogues which are extremely interesting. They look fairly light, I like that they float in extremely shallow water so I won't have to wade riffles. The minuses is I dont like that you sit so low in the boat like a kayak, I like my feet flat in the boat, knees up, rather then out stretched. I hear they are wobbley until you get used to it and I want one for fishing and a big small mouth in fast current might make you wobbley whether your seasoned canoer or not. I then found a couple of plywood sheet canoe designs the Iroqouis and the Algonquin that were also light, looked very stable (could sit up in). Im sure they don't float in low water as well and didnt look as durable. I guess my question is does anyone have experience with these styles and would you give me your opinions. I will be floating Green River, KY exlusively, its deep in some areas and extremely shallow in others, no real boat traffic. I always fish and I want something I can handle by myself and thats durable. I also prefer something thats not complicated to build like the pirogues and plywood canoe designs. Sorry this is so long but I need some direction. Thanks in advance.

oldsparkey

Aug 25, 2003
Central , Florida
www.southernpaddler.com
From what's it's worth department.....