New build - first build | SouthernPaddler.com

New build - first build

savannahkelly

Dec 7, 2008
After finally getting more than one or two hours of clear weather, I jumped in with both feet and started the build of 2 UJ pirogues, one for myself and one for my 13 year old son. I am a cabinet builder by trade, currently working for a company which builds custom cabinets for luxury jet airplanes. We get to work with many types of exotic woods and veneers and someday soon I plan to use some of those scraps on a new boat. But for the time being, I needed a small easy to handle boat that both my son and i can use for fishing here on the Georgia coast. The trout and redfish have be biting like mad for the past couple of months and being landlocked it was driving me crazy not being able to go catch more than what I have from the public piers.

I have been studying the plans for about 2 weeks and have been reading all of the previous posts here and on other boat building web sites and figured this is something I wish I would have found months earlier. But as the old saying goes, "Better late than never!!" I am using 1/8th inch luan for the plywood and will glass the entire boat.

My first picture shows my material, sides and bottom, cut and scarffed.

SDC10537.jpg

Picture #2 show boat #1 sides glued up with both the bow and stern stems in place.

SDC10538.jpg

Picture #3 shows the ribs being glued in place. For the ribs i am using some scraps of cherry i had laying around in my wood rack that was needing to be used. Funny how getting the ribs in place really gives you an accurate view of what your boats shape will be once it is completed.

SDC10540.jpg

Picture # 4 shows both boats with ribs glued in place.

SDC10541.jpg