Q#2.... still more to follow | SouthernPaddler.com

Q#2.... still more to follow

madtom

Jun 12, 2008
Thanks for the advice guys. I think this message board is wonderful. I'm from rural Oklahoma and their is no way I could interact w/other builders without a site like this.
I've decided to go ahead and make my "boat of many splices".

Q#2 is do you fiberglass the ribs on the inside, and if so how? I did and its not very pretty. Luckily, I have planned on painting the inside all along.

I'm allready planning boat number 2. My woodworking skills are good, but man do I need to improve my fiberglassing. Boat number two will be much better. At first I was dissapointed with boat #1, but then again I've never done this before, it will still float, its still the coolest thing I've ever made and I don't know anyone else who's ever built a boat, so I guess its not so bad after all. I'll post pics, when I'm done.

oldsparkey

Aug 25, 2003
Central , Florida
www.southernpaddler.com
:lol: :lol: :lol: Sorry about that ........ :oops: Actually I'm snickering at myself as you will find out reading my response to you.

The ribs are not normally glassed over , the glass runs up to them and then is trimmed so it is flush with the side. Then the junction is lightly filleted (if it is needed to smooth things out) over the fillet that is already there. Normally a coat or two of epoxy does the trick. You did it the hard way.

YEP.. My 1st one I tried the same thing and then said ... NUT'S ... with it and just trimmed the glass at the base of the ribs.

Just a good epoxy saturation on the ribs takes care of them and offers all the protection they need since the ones from Uncle Johns are Cypress.

As we like to say , building one boat is a learning experience , then the rest are a lot easier. Look at it this way , you learned something new and you have a boat to use while you make #2. It dosen't get any better then that. :D

Chuck.

jimsong

May 24, 2008
lakside village, texas
Hey Tom,