The wood used to make your boat , a question about the wood. | SouthernPaddler.com

The wood used to make your boat , a question about the wood.

oldsparkey

Aug 25, 2003
Central , Florida
www.southernpaddler.com
I was answering a question a builder had on Matt's web site and decided it was better to bring it over here. Especially since we do kick things around a little more over here , actually we beat them to death at times. :lol:

Here is part of my answer over there........
I am a boat builder with the idea of making a sandwich , the filling is just that , the filling or what you want to see or snack on.

The filing ( wood) is what determines the shape of the boat and in our case the looks of the craft and the fiberglass (Bread) is what gives it the body or strength.
Epoxyed plywood will increase up to 4 times in strength , depending on the saturation of it but it is the fiberglass that offers all of the protection and the additional strength to a wood boat.

Look at it this way , epoxy saturate the wood , what are you doing ? You are making wood into a epoxy saturated item. Now you add the glass , what are you doing , you are epoxy saturating the glass , the same thing you did to the wood.

What do you end up with , an epoxy saturated wood boat with an epoxy saturated fiberglass skin over it or an all epoxy boat that looks like wood. Very Happy
A sandwich where all you can see is the filling in it.:lol:

I posted this in the SERIOUS SECTION to keep it that way...

The question I have is this.

1. Has anyone taken the expensive wood , cut it into a 1 inch by 24 inch strip and then done the same thing with some $9.95 Luann , epoxyed saturated them and tested them to see which broke 1st.

2. To make it a fair test using the same size pieces of wood tested there breaking point without any epoxy on the strips.