Which boat, LONG and lots of pics.... | SouthernPaddler.com

Which boat, LONG and lots of pics....

swamprat

Aug 28, 2003
Venus Fl.
members.findmoore.net
Ok folks, I have been waflfing back and forth now for several months on which boat for this winters build. I relize this is stretching the bounds of southern paddler but I am contemplating a POWER BOAT!!!!
On my trip to Maine this summer I ran across what is known as a "guide canoe" 16-20 feet long. Beam of 4 or 5 feet.Here is the one that got me on this line of thinking...
file.jpg

file.jpg

I'm standing on the banks of allagash lake Northern maine,and looking at this boat and thinking it would be the IDEAL boat for running around down in the 10K islands. Flats fishing, camping,exploring and such. They typically run little 9.9 hp motors and are getting speeds in the 18-22 mph range.Could cover allot of ground and carry allot of gear in one of these eh? :)
Stopped at a dealer for these boats on the way back to Boston to catch our plane and they really aren't terribly expensive. About $4500, Boat motor and trailer. But, they are out of Canada and the closest dealer would be somewhere way far away from south Florida.Plus, I am feeling the need to make some sawdust! :shock:

I have pretty much narrowed my choices down to three boats. Or boat plans I guess would be a term.
In no particular order.
The swift canoe from Bateau.com
file.jpg

file.jpg

Here is more info.
http://www.bateau.com/proddetail.php?prod=SC16&cat=11
I think this would be just a bit small and more gheenoe like but not so sure it wouldn't make a better little fishing skiff than my other choices.

Next up would be the fs18. Also from Bateau.com
No real life pictures of this boat as one hasn't been splashed yet but this hull might work if I left the deck off and installed bench seats and a smaller casting deck up front.
More info
http://www.bateau.com/proddetail.php?prod=FS18