Brazos camping trip | SouthernPaddler.com

Brazos camping trip

Darrells

Oct 19, 2008
Lorena,Texas
I took my daughter on her first river camping trip. She never has paddled before and was alittle nervous so we took my wifes Ultimate instead because it is rock solid. A good friend and his little boy went with us and once we got to the river I told Hannah to go paddle around and get a feel for the boat and in just a minute she was gone. :D A perfect natural. So we get the boats loaded and off we go to battle the fierce south wind for a few miles.

Brazostrip001.jpg

Brazostrip002.jpg

We get to our site finally and get camp set up. It was a pretty long paddle with the wind howling.

Brazostrip024.jpg

Brazostrip013.jpg

As soon as baits hit the water drum were all over us. the catfish never did show up, but we still had a great time.

Brazostrip004.jpg

Brazostrip028.jpg

The gar bite was on last night. We had run after run after run,but could not get a good hook up. I am still learning this gar fishing . We were using cut drum and the heads of drum for bait.

Brazostrip045.jpg

Brazostrip044.jpg

Brazostrip053.jpg

Finally at 4:15 this morning I got the hookup I had been waiting for. Made several 100+ yard runs and there is nothing you can do about it except hold on.

Brazostrip056.jpg

I eventually won the fight and got the Gator on the bank. It is by far my biggest ( for now).

Brazostrip061.jpg

Brazostrip064.jpg

Brazostrip070.jpg

Brazostrip072.jpg

Brazostrip078.jpg

Brazostrip085.jpg

Brazostrip086.jpg

We had a great time and the kids really enjoyed it also. As great as it was to catch a really big fish the highlite of the trip came this morning on the way back when Hannah paddled up to me and said " Hey Dad when can we come back".

Brazostrip089.jpg

I am going to order some good leader material from Leadertec and also make a noose to help land these big fish. I know there is a gar well in excess of 150 in this area.

islandpiper