Do's and Don'ts of River Camping | SouthernPaddler.com

Do's and Don'ts of River Camping

Gringo Salado

Jan 13, 2008
Angleton, Texas
In light of Ron and Jack's recent trip and with all the knowledge on here I thought it might be a good idea to discuss some of the do's a don'ts of camping on a river. If it just saves one person from becoming a statistic it will have served it's purpose. I am by no means an expert, so chime in if i try and lead someone astray.
Do -
- keep an eye on the water level (rising, falling, holding steady)
- check any river flow gauges before your trip
- check the weather for conditions that may affect the river both in the area you'll be and upstream
- let someone know of your plans(floatplan, where you'll be, how long you plan to be on the water, how many in your party,how many boats,when you're putting in, take-out, more info the better, even better WRITE IT DOWN)
- carry a first aid kit
- pack plenty of drinking water

Don't -
- take unneccesary risks (increase chance of injury in remote location)

Come on ya'll, help me out here, I'm drawing blanks....................

Ozark

Oct 23, 2007
Ozark Mo.
Gringo I agree with having a trip itinerary listing where camping will likely take place. Give that to a trusted person. Maybe have a scheduled call in if on an extended trip. Learning some rescue signals would be helpful.

Kayak Jack

Aug 26, 2003
Okemos / East Lansing Michigan
Here is a format for a float plan:

Float Plan - NAME ________

If we do not report in by <time on <name-of-day <date , please call:
<-Emergency-Search-Agency at ( <telephone#
Report us as overdue/missing and provide them with the following information:
Name:
Age & Gender
Phone#
Colors of Boat & PFD
Colors of jackets
Skill Level
Medical Info

Signaling Devices:
Communications:
Hand held flares
Family Channel radio Call Sign:
Aerial flares
Cell Phone #
Smoke Color: <_____________
Hours of daily monitoring
Strobe

Equipment:
Flashlights
Tent(s)/ Hammocks colors: Rain fly