Fillets | SouthernPaddler.com

Fillets

PeteStaehling

Aug 23, 2020
Tallahassee Florida
It has been years since I have done fillets so I was reading a little as a refresher. I saw suggestions here that were very different from what I remember. I saw a suggestion of using masking tape, then applying epoxy with a syringe, then forming the fillet with a credit card before allowing the epoxy to set and sanding before applying tape if I understood correctly.

My approach in the past has varied, but was never that precise. In the beginning I tried applying the way they show in the CLC videos where John just plops big globs on and goes at them with a plastic card squeegee. Also like John does I put the seam tape on while the fillet is still wet and wet the tape out with resin at that time as well.

I graduated to using a pastry bag and applied the thickened epoxy like a cake decorator. You can buy big rolls of disposable bags (even the disposable ones can be reused a few times). I use them without any tip and just cut the end off for the size hole I want. I still applied the seam tape over wet fillets after hitting them with a card squeegee. That seemed to work pretty well.

I am curious what others are doing or have done.

Also I am curious what folks prefer to use for thickener. Wood flour? Something else? I can probably get decent wood flour from my DC system if I harvest it after a long run of usage of my thickness sander with fine grit. If I am buying filler I may go with something fancier. I remember using something that was called micro balloons and finding it really nice to work with. I am not sure which west systems product that equates to (probably 407?), but I see others sell it as micro balloons.

oldbuffpilot

May 13, 2014
Central Kansas and Central Texas
Pete,