fish- designed for speed | SouthernPaddler.com

fish- designed for speed

jdupre'

Sep 9, 2007
South Louisiana
I broached this subject a while back with a couple of guys on the back channels.

Our human powered boats are fairly slow. You can put a complete novice in a good kayak, and in a couple of hours he might be paddling 5mph maximum speed. An experienced kayaker in the same boat might max out at maybe 7-8 mph. Top world crew athletes might be in the neighborhood of 15 mph. This is with the advantage of the long waterline of a 40' boat. Theoretically, the longer the waterline , the faster the top speed.

So, how do you explain a 3' long tuna( short waterline length) swimming 45 mph with that pissant little tail. Their is something else at work there besides strength and streamlining.

World class rowing athletes would kill for a 1% speed improvement. Tuna have a 300% advantage over a world class rowing crew and a 600% advantage over a good kayaker!!

Seems to me, if we could decipher the secret, it would dramatically change our sport.

Just thinking.

Joey

Wannabe

Apr 5, 2007
on the bank of Trinity Bay
Speed=expended energy=work=not going to do it. But the more effecient the hull the less energy it would take to do what little I'm going to do. I'm going to hush now so the more scientifical folk can give you a more sensible answer. Interesting question.
Bob

hairymick

Dec 8, 2005
Queensland, Australia
Joey,

Have a look at the shape and body mass of that fish, all desgned with one purpose in mind, to drive that pissant little tail - hard.

Virtually all the body except for the head is one big mass of streamlined muscle.

Paddlers, on the other hand were not built to propell themselves through water. We rely on relatively small muscle groups, arms backs and shoulders to drive a paddle which, in turn, attempts to pull a relatively inefficient hull shape through the water.