lining up frames | SouthernPaddler.com

lining up frames

boxers

Feb 24, 2010
i am new to boatbuilding, i have built my frames, cut out my stem and made my transom for a 18' runabout. my question is what reference point is used to line up the frames, stem and transom before working on the battens and chines, etc. is it the waterline cause i have no idea. thank you in advance

boxers

Feb 24, 2010
i have plans as well as 4 descent books but no where have i found a point telling me how to line up the frames or even the transom with the stem.

BEARS BUDDY

Aug 27, 2003
BAY CITY MI
Where did you get the plans? Is there a table of offsets? Is there a website that has a study plan? The question would be easier to answer if the plans were available for viewing.

boxers

Feb 24, 2010
i purchased the plans from sandy point boat works, no i dont have a table of offsets, i have the ability to talk to the owner of the company when i want however most of his answers are short and extremely vague. his website has no "tech support" type options and i am regretting my purchase more and more every day. the design is a Hacker design called the Flapper. they are full size plans and if i can find a way to post them i will.

Jimmy W

May 1, 2006
north georgia, USA
boxers said:
i am new to boatbuilding, i have built my frames, cut out my stem and made my transom for a 18' runabout. my question is what reference point is used to line up the frames, stem and transom before working on the battens and chines, etc. is it the waterline cause i have no idea. thank you in advance
I am pretty sure that you need to line them up by the waterline, but hopefully someone with more experience in building this type of boats will come along.

Jimmy

BEARS BUDDY

Aug 27, 2003
BAY CITY MI