Springfield XD / XDM | SouthernPaddler.com

Springfield XD / XDM

gbinga

Nov 7, 2008
Hoschton, GA
I'm saving my nickels and dimes for a new pistol. The Ruger 9mm I have is a dependable chunk of metal, but I don't shoot it particularly well. And it suffers from the malady that all double action autos do - you have to either transition from double action trigger on the first shot to single action trigger on the second, or cock it when you bring it out of the holster.

Thought about a 1911 that could be carried cocked and locked, but magazine capacity is low, and "cocked and locked" makes me a bit nervous. (bear in mind that I'm an amateur and I know I'm an amateur. I try to get some range time in like all of us should, but I don't spend huge amounts of time at it).

Interested in a Springfield XD or XDM, probably in .40S&W. Caliber choice is influenced by the fact that my wife has a really sweet Glock compact with a ported barrel and night sights in .40. So we'd both be using the same ammo. Gun choice is influenced by;

-Same trigger pull every time (just like Glock and numerous other weapons)

-I shot one at a local range that rents guns. It felt incredibly natural in my hand, and hit where I pointed it as if it was reading my mind. Just remarkable compared to the Ruger.

-I really like the grip safety. I think it's a great idea, and that feature would make me comfortable with a round in the chamber.

-Really good press reports in the gun magazines.

Anybody own one, or know enough about them to comment?

George

mikerickin

Jan 10, 2010
Hello.
My Friend has an XD in .40 . He likes it especially for the price. However, after shooting my Walther P99 in .40 he is thinking about selling the Springfield to get a Walther. The extra couple hundred bucks buy IMHO a lot nicer of a pistol.

captaindoug

Nov 18, 2009
Tampa Bay, Florida