Wetsuited | SouthernPaddler.com

Wetsuited

Obie

Mar 15, 2006
Wisconsin
I couldn't resist tellling this one, hope it ain't too long, still makes me chuckle.....

My first wetsuit. I was so happy to be getting it. I had been surfing without one for a couple months now, and the water never did warm up much that summer. Anyway as fall approached, I knew I'd better start looking for one. I had already done a little research, so felt prepared to take on the task in a forth-right and professional manner.

I started shopping by laying out a course of shops I planned to compare. I knew that for a large ticket item, comparison shopping can be a wise move. So I planned to start at a shop close to my home. In reality, I wanted to buy from this shop if I could, just in case there were any warranty issues, then the source of resolution would be close at hand. My plan was to start there, with a short list I had compiled of wetsuits I was interested in. Based, of course, on my exhaustive research. And then, price shop. Once I found the cheapest price for the desired size, brand, and style, I would go back to the original shop and ask if they would match it. Not bad for a barney, eh? So, I began the day with a stop at the closest shop.

This particular shop is rather small. Actually, cramped would better describe it. The wetsuits, along with everything else, are pretty much jammed into their respective places fairly tight. This made browsing a little less covert than I had hoped. I had to actually take each one off the rack to look at it, as there wasn't room to push others aside and quickly glance at them. The retail girl wanted to be helpful, but I said no thanks. She was pretty young, and I knew what I was looking for, and didn't want to be pressured into buying at this point. I also didn't want to hear a bunch of balony about the products. After all I had done extensive research and already knew which ones looked the coolest.