Wood alternative | SouthernPaddler.com

Wood alternative

Ernie

Jan 29, 2006
Central Texas
Hey All,
I tried to look this up on the search,must'a not put it in right.What is a good subsitute for cypress,for the bowstem,chines and rub rails.I can get the cypress,but they have to order it,$$$$.This is my first build(Pirogue).
Ernie

islandpiper

Use good SOLID fir, like ladders are made of......or Heart Pine....really hard, old pitchy pine, not the puffy stuff they sell in the home stores......find an old 4x4 someplace. Or use even reasonalby good mahogony...of any sort besides Luan.....or Spanish Cedar like good doors are made of....... or oak, either kind, or Ash.......birch as a final long shot choice......Cypress is nice, won't rot away easily, but look, you are going to encapsulate this wood with glass and epoxy. so it won't be getting, or staying wet.

carry on. Piper

hairymick

Dec 8, 2005
Queensland, Australia
but look, you are going to encapsulate this wood with glass and epoxy. so it won't be getting, or staying wet

Very good information there mate.

Welcome aboard Ernie!!

Kieth has hit the nail on the head.

Your stem pieces are just that, stem pieces. All they do is hold the sides together till the epoxy/woodflour cures and welds them to it. they are then completely sealed in epoxy resin and have no need for great structural strength or even aesthetic beauty or resistance to wood rot.. Heck, once the stems are glued up and re-inforced with resin and fibre-glass, they don't even have to be there at all. They just make it easier to assemble the side pieces is all.