Toto in progess | SouthernPaddler.com

Toto in progess

A

Anonymous

Hey, guys/gals! I am new to this paddling thing but I have built a 14ft row/power (6hp) boat before. I am currently building a Michalak Toto. By the way, is that a canoe, a kayak, or a pirogue? Probably not quite any of the above but I noticed that is how the forum's topics are arranged. Anyway I am in the Birmingham, AL area and the pictures of the building of the Toto are at:

http://community.webshots.com/user/aub77

--Wayne

DocMobius

Aug 25, 2003
Wasola, Missouri
Wayne

Nice boats, I like that Toto as it looks like it will be a fun boat.

I'll be in your neck of the woods tomorrow about 4 or 5 am. Comming thru on 20 from Jacksonville Florida and headed to Wasola Missouri. Over the next few months I'll be moving up to Missouri.

I spent 4 years in Anniston as a Army MP. Very nice there and great fishing. Love them Foothills.

Great job on your first boat and good luck with Toto. ( though I doubt you need it) And Welcome to the Forum, I look foward to your post.

DocMobius
Paddling School for the Feebleminded

Kayak Jack

Aug 26, 2003
Okemos / East Lansing Michigan
Wayne, Interesting looking boat. My thoughts are:

A square ender can't be a kayak. More like a run-about boat maybe. What ever you end up calling it, you can be proud of it.

High bow likely to blow down wind and the boat may lee-cock in a side wind.

Deep vee cross-hull configuration will provide much secondary stability, may be tender in primary stability.

As Down Under Dave advised, I'd also recommend a very small diameter hole in your bulkhead near the top. Otherwise, when you seal on the deck (I'm assuming that's what you intend to do, from the looks of what I see) the air chamber can breathe. Also, as Dave suggests, I'd have a removeable hatch in the bulkhead to allow drying when the boat isn't in use.

And, finally, your cat cage is about to fall off of the Coleman 2 burner stove up there on the rack.

Swampy

Aug 25, 2003